The Garden Community for Garden Lovers

Kloba's Profile



About me

I have lived in Colchester for about four years now. There was loads to do on the house and garden but now that the house is more or less finished I am doing more and more in the garden. It's a long and relatively narrow plot, but the soil is good and it's South-facing, so everything gets lots of sunshine. This part of the UK is definitely warmer than anywhere else I have lived.

After the really dry summer we had three years ago (since when it summer has been a euphemism for wet and cold) I decided to go for plants that can look after themselves, so until last year there were really only roses and shrubs. My ex only liked white, so most of what flowers in the garden flowers white. Until this year, that is... have added irises, gladioli and daphnes so far as well as a few different species of rose.

Have also planted a lot of herbs and some veggies, as well as three raspberry stands, so there's lots to get on with. I work from home at the moment, which basically means I am in the garden for hours at a time during the day and working late into the night... perfect.

Latest photos

  • Up close and personal (Corokia x virgata)
  • Corokia (Corokia x virgata)
  • Offset by long lasting Muscari.... (Choisya)
  • Cute little blighters (Choisya)

Latest blogs

Infinity fence and beyond - Week to May 4

Posted on 4 May, 2009 2 comments

Up the garden path

Posted on 25 Apr, 2009 9 comments

What a difference some sun makes

Posted on 18 Apr, 2009 6 comments

Latest questions

Can anyone identify this shrub?

Asked on 14 Apr, 2009 3 replies

What else

Joined in Apr 2009

Country: United Kingdom

County: Essex

My website