The Garden Community for Garden Lovers

Littleoldman's Profile



About me

My house is situated quite high up (820ft) in a hilly part of South Yorkshire.

I purchased this house in 2006. Internally it needed much renovation and we concentrated on this first.

We just did the minimum in 2007/2008 to keep it tidy.

We we moved here we brought some plants with us and inherited some from my my good ladies mum.

My dad is a gardener and in my youth he used to let me have a go.

I have plans for the garden. At the moment I am keeping them fluid and just doing what I can when I can.

I waited for a year to see what was there.

I have kept a photo log of the last few years to record progress and whats where.

I have a continuos battle with the grass and hedges, but this year as the work internally completes I am winning.

I plan that the "front" garden will be formal. The "rear" will be a mixture of uses, herbs, vegatables, fruit a play lawn and a clothes line.

I dislike the use of chemicals and avoid where possible. But to get things into shape I am using glyphosate on the periennial weeds.

Latest photos

  • tulips in pot
  • 20190602 100950 Copy 200407123102
  • 20190802 171559 Copy 200407123211
  • 20190420 095201 Copy 200407123031

Latest blogs

Hot Composting - Does it Work?

Posted on 27 Jul, 2018 3 comments

Visit to RHS Chatsworth 2018

Posted on 11 Jun, 2018 3 comments


Posted on 22 May, 2018 7 comments

Latest questions

what type of cedar is this? Please

Asked on 28 Jul, 2009 8 replies

What else

Joined in Jul 2009

Country: United Kingdom

County: South Yorkshire