The Garden Community for Garden Lovers

Waddy's Profile



About me

I'm a retired English teacher living just outside Huddersfield in West Yorkshire. I enjoy nothing better than being in my garden, which is small but packed! We have one son, married to Carly and we have two granddaughters, Freya April, born 3rd April 2011 (she was actually born on Mother's Day) and Eliza Ivy born 2nd of November 2014. I've got a bit of a wanderlust, so I love travelling both in the UK and abroad. I hate winter weather as I suffer from Osteoarthritis which is always worse in the cold months, which is one of the reasons my OH (Richard) and myself try to get away for a couple of weeks in the winter, to somewhere a bit warmer and drier. I enjoy chatting to other GoY members and I'm pleased to say I've made some lovely friends since joining. I don't really have any favourite flowers or plants, but I have to admit to hating Spanish Bluebells.

Latest photos

  • Close up..can you see the bees?
  • California Lilac
  • Campanula
  • A garden flower photo

Latest blogs

My Happy Places and Plants

Posted on 8 Feb, 2021 8 comments


Posted on 27 Jan, 2021 18 comments

Merry Christmas

Posted on 13 Dec, 2020 19 comments

Latest questions

I have a fern which is outside in a pot at present

Asked on 10 Aug, 2020 5 replies

Hello everyone

Asked on 31 May, 2020 4 replies

I have a corner of my garden

Asked on 22 May, 2020 7 replies

What else

Joined in Mar 2012

Country: United Kingdom

County: West Yorkshire